Surya Namaskar: 12 Yoga Poses for Energy Boost and Flexibility Gain

Do Surya Namaskar (Sun Salutation) every morning, it will boost energy and increase flexibility

You should take out at least 20 minutes in the morning from your busy schedule and do Surya Namaskar, it increases flexibility in the body and boosts energy.

Everyone likes to take care of health. However, due to lack of time, it has become difficult for people to find time for themselves. If you take care of your diet and give yourself at least 20 minutes every morning, you can also live a healthy life. If you do not have enough time, wake up every morning and practice yoga. So you can do Surya Namaskar. Surya Namaskar is a set of 8 asanas which can be completed in 12 steps. It boosts energy and also increases flexibility.

Here are the steps of Surya Namaskar (Sun Salutation)

Step 1

Pranamasana or Prayer pose

Keep your feet together and balance your weight equally on both feet. Stretch your chest and relax your shoulders. Now inhale, and while exhaling, raise both the hands up from the sides. Then bring your palms together in front of the chest in prayer position.

Step 2

Hastottanasana or Raised arms pose

While inhaling, take your hands up and bend backwards, keeping them near the ears. In this posture, try to pull the entire body up from the heels to the tips of the fingers.

Step 3

Hastapadasana or Hand to Foot pose

While exhaling, bend forward from the waist while keeping the spine straight. As you exhale completely, bring the hands to the floor next to the feet. If you are a beginner and find it difficult to keep your hands on the ground, you can do this by slightly bending your knees, however, after gradually practicing, try to keep your hands straight by keeping your knees straight

Step 4

Ashwa Sanchalanasana or Equestrian pose

While inhaling, push your straight leg backwards as far as possible. Bring the opposite knee to the ground and look up. Keep in mind that the opposite foot should be exactly in the middle of the palms.

Step 5

Dandasana or Stick pose

While inhaling, take the opposite leg back and bring the whole body in a straight line. Just like doing a plank.

Step 6

Ashtanga Namaskar or Salute With Eight Parts Or Points

Exhale and slowly lower your knees down to the floor. Take the hips back slightly, resting your chest and chin on the floor. Lift your rear slightly. While doing this asana, eight parts of the body should touch the floor, two hands, two legs, two knees, chest and chin.

Step 7

Bhujangasana or Cobra pose

Slide forward and lift the chest into cobra pose. In this, you can keep your elbows bent along with the shoulders away from the ears. While doing this pose, look up towards the ceiling. As you inhale, make a slight effort to push the chest forward. As you exhale, try to push the navel down.

Step 8

Parvatasana or Mountain pose

Exhale and lift the hips and tailbone up to bring the body into an inverted ‘V’ posture.

Step 9

Ashwa Sanchalanasana or Equestrian pose

While inhaling, bring the straight leg forward between both the hands. Extend the opposite leg backward. Press hips down and look up.

Step 10

Hastapadasana or Hand to Foot pose

While exhaling, bring the left leg forward. Keep the palms on the floor. You can bend your knees if needed.

Step 11

Hasta Uttanasana or Raised Arms pose

Breathe in and stand straight and then raise your hands up, bending backwards slightly while pushing the hips outwards.

Step 12

Pranamasana – Prayer Pose

This is same as step 1.

This is a set of Surya Namaskar. Complete the second cycle by repeating the steps. However, the second time, step 4 is to take the opposite foot back and step 9 is to bring the opposite foot forward.

Click here to check the benefits of Surya Namaskar.

Leave a Comment